Workstation Live 9.6

Online journal by Srinwantu Dey

F1 VISA Processing: A step by step guide: Part 1

Posted by srinwantudey on June 7, 2009

Time is on. Time is running fast. It’s already June and I am yet to take my Visa Interview date. I am walking real late. Still I have managed some time to write my VISA experience for my readers and prospective applicants. I will try to cover each and every trivial aspect of my journey, hope it will help others.

The first and foremost thing you have to do is pay the VISA fee. This is payable only at few selected HDFC outlets. You can find the nearest outlet from here. I  visited the Central Plaza HDFC outlet near Minto Park, Kolkata and it is just a matter of 15 minutes or so.

Just remember few things before paying the fee:

  1. Reach the bank before 3:30 pm on weekdays and before 12:30 pm on Saturdays.
  2. Carry your passport along with a photocopy of its front page. Though the photocopy will suffice, it is always better to keep the original with you to be on the safe side.

Now comes the fee instructions:

  1. Visa Application Fee (MRV Fee): US $131 payable in INR equivalent at consular exchange rate.
  2. Service Charge: Rs.374/- which includes VFS’ service charge Rs359/- & Bank service charge Rs15/- (inclusive of Service Tax @ 10% and Education Tax @0.30%)

I highly recommend paying the fee in cash (though DD will serve the purpose) as it will definitely speed up the process.

Well, let’s return to my experience. I went there with some of my friends and only with the passport. I eventually forgot to make the photocopy which can be done free of cost from my office. Luckily there was a xerox centre just opposite to the bank. I made  a photocopy of the first and last page (last page is not mandatory) and then withdrew Rs. 7500 from the nearby ATM. I was not sure about the total amount. Then I walked into the bank and asked an officer about the VISA counter. Directed from there I promptly asked the concerned person for the application form of “Non immigrant VISA”.

The person handed over two forms to be filled in by me. One of them basically consisted of 3 similar pages, one white,, one pink and another blue . The amount to be paid was already written in INR on the forms as per the current rate. For me the amount was Rs. 6550/-  all inclusive. The three forms had carbon papers in between so I would recommend you to fill up the forms with little pressure. I just needed to write my name, date of birth, passport number and amount in words. That other form was nothing but a cash deposit form. All together a mere 5 minutes of cake walk. Then I moved to the cash counter with all those forms , the photocopy of my passport and Rs 6550/- cash. At the counter, they received  all the things and return you only  the blue and  the pink slip with a bar code affixed.

This bar code is activated after two days and is required while feeling the online application. Remember to keep the receipts along with you. You will require those on the VI day.

Bye for now!

2 Responses to “F1 VISA Processing: A step by step guide: Part 1”

  1. sindhu said

    hi i am sindhu…
    i had my visa interview yesterday and i got a white slip.
    my interview was good but still she gave me the slip can u let me know wat went wrong and wat i should do

  2. Paul said

    My brother filed a I-130 for me, As I am considering to apply for further graduate training, I am looking at applying for a F-1 student visa. Here are my questions:

    Can I do so while the I-130 is in process or do I need to abandon the I-130?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

