Workstation Live 9.6

Online journal by Srinwantu Dey

Setting up BSNL Broadband with Ubuntu

Posted by srinwantudey on April 1, 2009

Hi to all,

One of my pal (Aritra Mukherjee!) yesterday asked me how to set up BSNL broadband connection in the desktop edition of Ubuntu. This post is completely dedicated to him and for those who are still searching for this tip! To learn linux it’s not enough to install a distribution you must have access to the web to browse the online manuals. Any way, please have a look at the video below which depicts the basic of setting up Broadband connection. and please let me know if any problem persists. Any new suggestions are warmly welcome!

Cheers,

Srinwantu

9 Responses to “Setting up BSNL Broadband with Ubuntu”

  1. aritra said

    Thanks a lot Srinwantu..
    I have set up the brdband and it is woring great 🙂

    • srinwantudey said

      Thanks Aritra and keep it up!
      I would like to invite you to write here about experiences which will helps the readers!
      Good luck n thanks again for visiting!
      Srinwantu

  2. Anil Sarwal said

    Hi, thanks for the bsnl tutorial. However, in my network connections, auto eth0 is not shown in wired connections. I had used the following method to configure internet

    Type “sudo pppoeconf”
    Enter password (You won’t be able to see even any asterix. Just type it correctly)

    Follow the instructions along with providing your username, password.

    However, dont enable the option should the connection be logged in at the time of booting the computer. (one or two last questions) otherwise, poff would not work!

    To connect, open Terminal and type “pon dsl-provider”

    To disconnect, open Terminal and type- “poff

    The problem is if I dont enable logging in at the time of booting, I cannot connect to the net with pon dsl-provider. Also I would rather use the network connections.

    Can u help asp please?

  3. Anil Sarwal said

    I have further noticed there is a cross on network connections. Clicking on the same asks me to configure vpn connections and there is a lock on the top, so nothing can be done.

    I also want to know if I can undo changes made by “sudo pppoeconf” and further any changes to network connections from the original state.

    Thanks

  4. Anil Sarwal said

    Oh ya, I forgot to add I am using ubuntu 9.04!!!

  5. vandit said

    can you tell me how to do it by USB as I dont have ethernet port on my mobo.

  6. subodh said

    Hie Srinwantu,

    I am late comer in the world of ubuntu. Today itself i have installed it on my pc and i was searching the way to make my broadband work on it…
    I was thinking that it will take take few hour…

    Thanks a lot to you, it was done in a few mnts..

    amazing.

    I am a tv journalist but presently working on a project that will help to cover digital gape in India which is due to linguistic reasons.

    I will like to be in tune with you.

    Thanks again.
    Subodh

    subodh@hindihomeoage.com

  7. subodh said

    Hie Srinwantu,

    I am late comer in the world of ubuntu. Today itself i have installed it on my pc and i was searching the way to make my broadband work on it…
    I was thinking that it will take take few hour…

    Thanks a lot to you, it was done in a few mnts..

    amazing.

    I am a tv journalist but presently working on a project that will help to cover digital gape in India which is due to linguistic reasons.

    I will like to be in tune with you.

    Thanks again.
    Subodh

Leave a Reply

 
