Workstation Live 9.6

Online journal by Srinwantu Dey

My very 1st encounter with GIMP 2.6

Posted by srinwantudey on April 18, 2009

Greetings,

It’s been a long time since I published the last entry. Some very personal reason is behind that. So many articles are pending at my desk, I need to hurry now!

Well, during this, I have stepped into the world of open source image manipulation! I was pretty scared of the Adobe Photoshop  kinda things & always feel jealous of the experts.  Well, I too need to pull off the things. I started playing with GIMP on my brand new Lenovo G430 Ubuntu Box. It was a one night stand, and I feel quite good. I am pretty comfortable with the things which I never dare to touch before. I am using GIMP 2.6. GIMP stands for GNU Image Manipulation Program. In short, it is a freely distributable program for such tasks as photo retouching, image composition and image authoring. But in depth, it is capable of much more. Experts say, it will force Adobe PS to chase it. No comments from a novice regarding this, but my first encounter is extremely comfortable, I must say.

I need to dip deep inside into it to take in the full essence. I will regularly update new features of GIMP as I would explore imore. Let the artwork unleash, let the creativity flourish ………

Below are the two artworks which are the products of my first night foreplay with GIMP (!) includes very basic tricks.  But it makes me extremely proud. Please don’t assume anything, and don’t criticize much (but you MUST criticize but please do not through a chuckle). A comment or two will definitely boost my confidence up and some suggestions from experts are strongly recommended! I hope I will improve from my very greenhorn status very soon!Daraar

Drogba Ubuntu Force

Leave a Reply

 
