Workstation Live 9.6

Online journal by Srinwantu Dey

F1 VISA Processing: My Interview Experience: Part 4

Posted by srinwantudey on June 22, 2009

Hi to all,

I had my Visa Interview on 17th June at 11:00 am.

Address: American Consulate General, 5/1 Ho Chi Minh Sarani, Kolkata – 700071

I reached the consulate office at 10:30 am and join a queue of 5/6 people just outside the office. The security guard ask me to keep my idenfying documents like passport, VI appointment letter, HDFC receipt etc in hand. Then he did some customery job and let me enter into the consulate. Another checking (this time electronic)has been done and I am allowed inside only with my document folder, wallet, pen and hankerchief.

Inside the Interview Room there are 7 counters what so ever. Please have a look over the diagram to have a concept of the Kolkata VI room.

1

At first I am asked to attend the counter 1 to submit the initial documents. There was a smiling gentleman receiving the documents but in a nut, he moved to counter 2 while another man replaced him at the counter 1. He was not that gentle. He started to grill the applicant starting from there.Anyway, he was not that bad though. I submit my HDFC bank receipts, Sevis Fee receipts, DS forms, VI appointment letter, passport, GRE & TOEFL score cards and I20 form. Then he asked me to submit the University admission letter and my financial documents. I had made some mistakes feeling the DS forms (everyone does, need not worry)he had pointed out the mistakes and ask me to correct them. You must carry a black pen, I repeat. After receiving everything, he returned me the pink slip and asked me to seat and wait. Counter no 1 & 2 were responsible for document collection. Counter 3 was assisting applicants with finger print scanning, where the next counter was closed. There were bit crowd that day – I need to wait a bit. Then I had a call from counter 3 where a smiling lady was interacting for scanning. After that I again had to wait. There were manly two counters dealing with the interview – 5 & 6. Counter 7 was seldom calling a applicant or two. The guy, sitting beside me had his call from counter 5. I guess, he had offer from TAMU Mechanical. But his interview was not impressive. It looked so. He was in trouble. A bit long interview and I clearly noticed that, he was returned his passport immediately. Adamn rejection. And all of a suddent  – it was my call – from that cursed Counter 5.

He was a blonde gentleman but not with a big smile. A little tired, I guess as there was a real rush that day.

Me: Hi……..Good Morning! (I need to calculate as it was 11:55 am)

VO: Keep you index finger there (He pointed out to the scanning machine at the window, without greeting me)

Me: Is it fine?

VO: It’s OK. Remove it. ……. (watching my I20)…….. why University of Florida?

Me: Sir, I have a two years of experience in software engineering and database development. I need to have a in – depth knowledge in my area of choice. The course at University of Florida offers good learning and research opportunity in those field which will definitly give me an edge  when I will return back to industry here.

VO: You have 2 years of experience?

Me: Yes, Around 23 months.

VO: You seem to achieve a scholarship (I gave him a big smile), what about rest of the expense?

Me: I have been awarded with 40% tuition waiver from the university and for the rest I have my family funds of around XX.XX Lakhs and I have sanctioned an education loan of XX.XX Lakh from SBI. This is sufficient to cover the expense.

VO: What your father do?

Me: My father was …..XXXX but unfortunately he was died recently.

VO: How long ago? (come a bit closer now)

Me:nearly 3 months

VO: I am very sorry to hear that

Me: It’s OK.

VO: (suddenly nodded his head, my face was pale that time)So, no visit before? (typing something)

Me: No sir, this is my first opportunity

VO: Well, congratulation! I am approving your VISA (keep my passport aside)

Me: Thank you so much

VO: Your passport will be sent to your address (returning my documents)

Me: Thanks sir, Take Care!

That;s it!

Confidence is the only motto. Stay confident, loud and clear while talking. Never miss an eye-contact.And please do not lie to them.

Before interview, just think what are the vulnarable points  you have. Make valid reasons for that and practise a bit. If possible keep some document with you and state the reasons confidently. Trust me, you will be through.

Best of Luck!

Leave a Reply

 
